call for a chat
+44 (0)1326 336554
Images Only
Max Loy Carpenter Oak

Trainee Carpenter

Joined Carpenter Oak Cornwall: 2018


Interview with Max

  • What is the best project you have worked on and why?

  • Asquith, because it was my first oak frame
  • When not in the yard, what do you enjoy doing?

  • Downhill mountain biking, surfing, working out, campfires and spending time with good friends.
  • Which three people would be in your dream carpentry team and why?

  • Jesus, Tim and Ben... I'd learn a lot from Jesus and have a good laugh (and surf) with Tim and Ben!
  • What is the most embarrassing job you have ever had?

  • I've been a carpenter since 15, so nothing really!
  • What music do you listen to?

  • Riles, Parov Stelar, Notorious B.I.G
  • What is the best comedy film ever made?

  • Borat
  • What do you enjoy most about working with wood/oak?

  • Being able to make whatever you like with a great looking end result.
  • Do you have a favourite quote?

  • Do. Or do not, there is no try - Yoda
  • Where is your favourite place in the world?

  • Les Gets in the French Alps. Mountain biker's paradise with stunning scenery!

Biography

I was born in Exeter and lived there until I moved to Virginia in the US of A.  Spent another seven years there before moving to France at the age of 13, with no knowledge of the French language.  Living in Brittany was a lot of fun!  It was here where I decided to embark on a career in carpentry and follow in my family’s footsteps.  My grandfather and four of my uncles all worked with wood.  Before moving to Carpenter Oak, I completed 2 years basic training and 2 years advanced carpentry training with the Compagnon Du Devoir in Rennes.
Web Statistics